Saturday, January 14, 2017

President Obama Fills Last CPAC Positions

With just nine days left before exiting the White House, President Barack Obama has completed the last four appointments to the eleven member Cultural Property Advisory Committee (CPAC).

On Thursday the president announced the appointments of John Frank and Karol Wight, and the reappointments of Lothar von Falkenhausen and Nancy Wilkie.

The White House announcement comes on the heels of President Obama's reappointments of Rosemary Joyce and James Wright Willis on January 5.

The president named five others to CPAC late last year, including Dorit D. Straus on December 15 and Adele Chatfield-Taylor, Shannon Keller O'Loughlin, James K. Reap, and Jeremy Sabloff on September 16.

CPAC members give advice when foreign nations petition the United States under the 1970 UNESCO Convention for help to protect cultural heritage in danger of looting.

President-elect Donald Trump is scheduled to replace Obama on January 20.

Photo credit Sara Moses/

Text and original photos copyrighted by Cultural Heritage Lawyer, a blog commenting on matters of cultural property law, art law, cultural heritage policy, antiquities trafficking, and museum risk management. Blog url: Any unauthorized reproduction or retransmission of any blog post without the express written consent of CHL is prohibited. CHL is a service of Red Arch Cultural Heritage Law & Policy Research, Inc.